



NEW ZEALAND NURSES ORGANISATION GASTROENTEROLOGY NURSES COLLEGE

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the NZNO Gastroenterology Nurses
College to be held at 1230
Hagley Oval, Christchurch
on
Thursday 18th November 2021

Present: Karen Clarke- Chairperson, Rachel Cashmore- Treasurer, Merrilee Williams-Secretary, Holly Weale, Kirsten Arnold, Marian O'Connor, Wanda Owen- Committee members, Julia Anderson- PNA, Daryl McGann, Cara Rowe, Davina McQueen, Donna Howe, Jackie Watkins, Jacqui Stone, Janette Sigvertsen, Karen Kempin, Gretel McKenzie, Marina Richards, Kate Lawrence, Kiran Joseph, Christine Ho, Marie Press, Nideen Visesio, Ana Ratapu, Amie Seymour, Genevieve Cowley, Margaret Fraser, Sue Gale, Rowena Simons, Tamsin Dunn, Amanda-Jane Watson, Amy Spain, Catherine Pink, Dale Cornelius, Donna Somers, Jen Ward, Kaitlyn Doak, Katie Johnston, Kirsty McAllister, Lucy Carroll, Cathy Hodgins, Danielle Pope, Ady Leigh, Janine Palmer, Marilen Kirong, Maureen Reynolds, Nikki Baird, Rachel Rufino, Richard Dy, Rick Seo-As, Sam Joyce, Sue Smith, Victoria Harkess, Vanessa Mathieson, Joanne White, Julie Denby, Michelle Harkess.

1. Welcome and Introduction of Committee

Chairperson Karen Clarke opened the meeting.

- 1.1 Roll Call
- 1.2 Confirmation of Quorum (24 required)
- **1.3** Apologies- Nancy Carey, Karen Murdoch (Zoom link fault)
- 1.4 Confirmation of last Gastroenterology Section meeting Minutes Moved: The minutes of the Gastroenterology meeting held on 20 November 2020 to be confirmed.

Moved:	Karen Kempin
Seconded:	Holly Weale
CARRIED	

1.5 Matters Arising from 20 November 2020 minutes

Nil

- 2. Correspondence
- 2.1 Inwards: Nil

2.2	Outwards: To	o membership	to advise of	of AGM as well	as notify of Remit.
-----	--------------	--------------	--------------	----------------	---------------------

Moved:	Merrilee Williams
Seconded:	Jessica Southall
CARRIED	

3. Financial for previous financial year

Rachel advised the membership that the financial report had been sent back to NZNO for amendment as did not include breakdown of the sup specialties finances. The corrected report will be posted on the college website when received.

Rachel informed the membership that our accounts were healthy with \$16k in the accounts. Discussion ensued relating to investment in education for the members over the coming financial year.

3.1 Move any accounts for payment- pending

Moved:	
Seconded:	
CARRIED LOST	

3.2 Present prospective budget for financial year- pending

Moved:	
Seconded:	
CARRIED LOST	

4. Report

4.1 Chairperson's Report- Karen tabled a report- posted on website

Moved:	Karen Clarke
Seconded:	Kirsten Arnold
CARRIED	

4.2 Other Committee Reports

- 1. Inflammatory Bowel Disease sub specialty
- 2. Hepatology nurses sub specialty- to be posted on www
- 3. Tube Editors report
 - a. All reports posted on college website ahead of the AGM

Moved:	Holly Weale
Seconded:	Gendy Bradford
CARRIED	

5. Remits

5.1 Rule remits- Remit proposed to amend subclause 8.1.3 to enable difficult to fill committee positions to stay a further year to allow for a hand over teaching period for the incumbent. Only 2 votes received on surveymonkey in lead up to AGM. Put to the floor for vote.

Moved:	Kirsten Arnold
Seconded:	Dale Cornelius
CARRIED	

5.2 Policy remits- nil

Moved:		
Seconded:		
CARRIED LOST		

6. NZNO Reports

6.1 Item- Julia Anderson- Professional Nursing Advisor

Julia Tabled a report that was posted on the college website ahead of the AGM.

Discussion: Briefly around MECA update

Moved:

Moved	Julia Anderson
Seconded	Merrilee
	WIlliams
CARRIED	

7. General Business

7.1 Item- Nil

Discussion: Nil

Moved:

Moved	Karen Clarke
Seconded	Jessica
	Southall
CARRIED	

8. National Committee Election

Outgoing members:

Karen Clarke- Chairperson: Thanks given to Karen for her immense contribution to the committee over many years.

Wanda Owen- Committee member: Thanks given to Wanda for her contribution to the committee.

Members elected:

Marian O'Connor- re-elected for a second term of two years Merrilee Williams- elected as incoming Chairperson Kiran Joseph- elected as committee member

Karen Kempin- elected as committee member

The meeting concluded at 1330 pm when Karen Clarke closed. The next meeting will be held on November 2022

Chairperson: Merrilee Williams

Date: 24/11/2022